Tax deduction. Error in the example of the Methodological Guidelines may lead to tax disputes

Autor: Gaukhar Narbekova MinTax Group Posted: Valeriy Posted: 1 August 2018 09:04 Category: Corporate Income Tax, deductions Views: 511

In this article, the author, Gaukhar Narbekova, Partner of MinTax Group, RoK Auditor, DipIFR (ACCA), CIPA, CAP expresses her professional opinion regarding the error in the example of calculating the sum of deduction of taxes and other obligatory payments (hereinafter - "Taxes") in the Methodological Guidelines for the conduct of tax inspections approved by the Appendix to the Order of the Chairman of the Tax Committee of the RoK Ministry of Finance No. 248 dated 24 June 2011  (hereinafter - the "Methodological Guidelines").

According to the example given in the Methodological Guidelines, the sum of accrued and paid Taxes should be calculated on the basis of data of the taxpayer's personal account (p/a) which is maintained by the tax authority (hereinafter - the "Personal Account"), instead of using the taxpayer's own accounting data.

The specified norm of the Methodological Guidelines contradicts the Tax Code, according to which an obligation to assess and pay the Taxes shall be fulfilled by the taxpayer himself on the basis of his accounting documentation which does not comprise the Personal account.

The Personal account does not assess the Tax, but reflects only the taxpayer's tax reporting data in respect of the accrued Tax amount, taking into account the occurred deadlines for the payment of Taxes, which leads to deviations from the actual data of the taxpayer himself.

Therefore, the use of the Personal account leads to a violation of the procedure for assessing the CIT established by the norms of the Tax Code.

When the tax authorities use the example from the Methodological Guidelines, the taxpayer should point out that the norms of the Tax Code stand above the norms of the Methodological Guidelines and that, according to the provisions of the current Tax Code, all contradictions should be construed in favour of the taxpayer.

Further, let us consider the situation in more detail, giving reasons which confirm existence of the error in the Methodological Guidelines.

The Methodical Guidelines were put into effect on the date of signing and are effective up to now.

Therefore, the Methodological Guidelines are applied by the state revenue authorities when exercising control over the completeness of the assessment of tax liabilities by taxpayers.

Below is an extract from the Methodological Guidelines in respect of the procedure for determining the amount of deduction on taxes and obligatory payments to the budget for the purpose of assessing Corporate income tax (CIT), Form 100.00.

All the norms of tax legislation referred to in the Methodological Guidelines are related to the Code of the Republic of Kazakhstan #99-IV dated 10 December 2008 "On Taxes and Other Obligatory Payments to the Budget (Tax Code)" and, when analysing them, the author assumed that the procedure itself for calculating deductions on taxes for CIT purposes in the current tax legislation has not changed.

Line 100.00.53 "Taxes and other obligatory payments to the Budget"

 In accordance with Article 114 of the Tax Code, Taxes paid (in particular by offsetting) to the budget of the Republic of Kazakhstan or some other state in respect of taxpayer's taxable items, within the assessed and accrued limits shall be subject to deduction, except for:

1)  taxes excluded prior to determining the aggregate annual income;

2)  CIT and income taxes paid in the territory of the Republic of Kazakhstan and other states;

3)  taxes paid in countries with preferential taxation;

4)  tax on excess profits.

 Taxes accrued, assessed for the preceding tax periods and paid (including those paid by offset method) in the current tax period shall be subject to deduction in the current tax period.

It should be noted that, the amount of Taxes assessed (accrued) and paid in excess of the amounts established by regulatory legal acts of the Republic of Kazakhstan, shall not be referred to deductions.

Information on Taxes paid to the budget is generated from data of the personal account, and information on the amount of accrued Taxes - from tax reports on relevant taxes (taking into account the amounts of taxes additionally charged based on the audit report).

The amounts of accrued Taxes are determined by the credit of accounts of subsection 3100 "Tax Liabilities" of the Standard Chart of Accounts.

Example of the calculation of Social tax deduction for 2008-2009

Description

2008

2009

Balance at the beginning of period on p/a (+,-)

+100,000

- 200,000

Charged on tax reporting form

1,000,000

1,000,000

Additionally charged on the audit report

500,000

0

Paid on p/a

1,200,000

1,500,000

Tax deduction

1,300,000

1,200,000

The author believes that in the above example "Balance at the beginning" one should use information from the taxpayer's accounting data rather than data of the Personal account.
That is, the correct example should be as follows:

Description

2008

2009

Balance at the beginning of period as per accounting records (+,-)

+100,000

- 200,000

Charged on tax reporting form

1,000,000

1,000,000

Additionally charged on the audit report

500,000

0

Paid on p/a

1,200,000

1,500,000

Tax deduction

1,300,000

1,200,000

The grounds for expressing an opinion are stated below:
In accordance with the rules of tax accounting provided for by Article 192 of the current Tax Code effective from 1 January 2018, the taxpayer (tax agent) shall maintain tax accounting in Tenge using the accruals method in the manner and on the terms established by this Code. In the meantime, the "accruals method" is a method of accounting whereby the results of transactions and other events shall be recognized as they occur, in particular, from the date when work is performed, services are provided and goods are shipped and transferred to a buyer or his agent for the purpose of realization or booking of assets, rather than from the date of receipt or payment of cash or cash equivalents. The taxpayer (tax agent) on the basis of the tax accounting based upon the results of the tax period, shall determine taxable items and (or) items relating to taxation, and assess Taxes to the budget.

The assessment and accrual of Taxes shall be made in accordance with the tax legislation of the Republic of Kazakhstan or another state (for taxes and other obligatory payments paid to the budget of the other state).

The procedure for the assessment of Social tax is stipulated in Article 359 of the Tax Code, Social tax is assessed by applying the rate established in paragraph 1 of Article 358 of the Tax Code to the taxable item determined in accordance with paragraphs 2 and 3 of Article 357 of the Tax Code for the tax period.

Please note that Social tax assessed for the 4th quarter is not shown in the Personal Account, but as per Tax code requirements it should be accounted for when calculating deductions according to Article 114 of Tax code.

That is, the shift in tax periods due to the difference between the payment deadline and the end of tax period contradicts the accrual principle, which stipulates that the taxpayer (tax agent) shall maintain tax accounting in KZT by accruals method in the manner and under the conditions established by the Tax Code.

According to paragraph 3 of Article 190 of the current Tax code, tax accounting shall be based on accounting records. The procedure for the maintenance of accounting documentation shall be established by the Republic of Kazakhstan legislation concerning accounting and financial reporting.

According to paragraph 3 of Article 100 of the Tax code, deductions shall be made by a taxpayer in the presence of documents supporting the expenses related to its activities aimed at earning income. These costs shall be subject to deduction in that tax period in which they were actually incurred, except for the costs of future periods, to be determined in accordance with the international standards of the financial reporting and requirements of the legislation of the Republic of Kazakhstan on accounting and financial reporting.

Thus, the Personal account is not deemed to be an accounting document of the taxpayer intended for bookkeeping, in accordance with the RoK Law "On Accounting and Financial Reporting", but is a document intended for accounting and monitoring transfers of taxes and obligatory payments to the budget . At the same time, the Personal account is maintained by the tax authority rather than the taxpayer.

Thus, with the exception of cases where accounting records are not maintained or the documents are lost, taxable items by default should be assessed and determined with the use of the taxpayer's accounting documents on the basis of accounting and tax records.    

The author hopes that this article will help taxpayers in disputes that often arise in case of different interpretations of the tax law and will serve as the grounds for cancelling the example contained in the Methodological Guidelines for carrying out documentary inspections of the completeness of assessment of tax liabilities by officials of state revenue authorities or for replacing the phrase "Balance at the beginning of the period on p/a (+, -) " with "Balance at the beginning of the period as per accounting records (+, -)".

Share link: # # # # # # # # # # # #
No comments ... You can do it first!
Add comment
Order service MinTax

Photoalbum

https://www.kurs.kz/ - Курсы валют в обменных пунктах г. Алматы и других городах Казахстана https://www.kurs.kz/ - Курсы валют в обменных пунктах г. Алматы и других городах Казахстана

Who online
Логин
Confidentiality

Name of “MinTax” used in this proposal, depending on the context, can refer to MinTax LLP or MinTax Audit LLP and to its structural subdivisions as well. MinTax LLP and MinTax Audit LLP are included into MinTax Group acting on the basis of the Partnership Agreement, and are considered to be separate and independent legal entities founded under the Republic of Kazakhstan legislation, and they are responsible for all rights and obligations only on their behalf. The Companies which are included in MinTax Group are not responsible for any actions or omissions of each other
CONFIDENTIALITY | LEGAL ASPECTS

Вычет по налогам. Ошибка в примере Методических рекомендаций может привести к налоговым спорам

Автор: Гаухар Нарбекова Группа МинТакс Разместил: Valeriy Размещено: 1 августа 2018 09:04 Категория: Корпоративный подоходный налог, вычеты Просмотров: 300

В настоящей статье автор, Гаухар Нарбекова, Партнер Группы МинТакс, Аудитор РК, DipIFR (ACCA), CIPA, CAP выражает свою профессиональную точку зрения в отношении ошибки, допущенной в примере исчисления размера вычета по налогам и другим обязательным платежам (далее – Налоги), приведенном в Методических рекомендациях по проведению налоговых проверок, утвержденных Приложением к приказу Председателя Налогового комитета Министерства финансов РК от 24 июня 2011 года. № 248 (далее – Методические рекомендации).

Согласно примеру, приведенному в Методических рекомендациях, сумма начисленных и уплаченных Налогов должна рассчитываться на основании данных лицевого счета налогоплательщика, который ведется в налоговом органе (далее – Лицевой счет), вместо использования данных бухгалтерского учета самого налогоплательщика.

Указанная норма Методических рекомендаций противоречит Налоговому кодексу, которым обязательство по исчислению и уплате Налогов возложено на самого налогоплательщика на основании его учетной документации, к которой Лицевой счет не относится.

Лицевой счет не исчисляет Налог, а отражает в отношении начисленной суммы Налога лишь данные налоговой отчетности налогоплательщика с учетом наступивших сроков уплаты Налогов, что приводит к наличию отклонений от фактических данных самого налогоплательщика.

Следовательно, использование Лицевого счета приводит к нарушению порядка исчисления КПН, установленного нормами Налогового кодекса.

При применении налоговыми органами примера из Методических рекомендаций, налогоплательщику необходимо указать на то, что нормы Налогового кодекса выше норм Методических рекомендаций и то, что, согласно нормам текущего Налогового кодекса, все противоречия толкуются в пользу налогоплательщика.

Далее, рассмотрим ситуацию подробно, приведя обоснования, подтверждающие наличие ошибки в Методических рекомендациях.

Методические рекомендации введены в действие со дня подписания и не утратили свою силу до настоящего времени.

Следовательно, Методические рекомендации применяются органами государственных доходов при осуществлении функций контроля за полнотой исчисления налогоплательщиками налоговых обязательств.

Ниже указана выдержка из Методических рекомендаций по порядку определения размера вычета по налогам и обязательным платежам в бюджет в целях исчисления корпоративного подоходного налога ( далее - КПН)  по форме 100.00.

Все приведенные в Методических рекомендациях нормы налогового законодательства относятся к Кодексу Республики Казахстан от 10 декабря 2008 года № 99-IV «О налогах и других обязательных платежах в бюджет (Налоговый кодекс)» и, при их анализе, автором сделано допущение о том, что сам порядок исчисления вычетов по налогам в целях КПН в текущем налоговом законодательстве не изменился.

 

Строка 100.00.53 «Налоги и другие обязательные платежи в бюджет»

В соответствии со статьей 114 Налогового кодекса, вычету подлежат Налоги, уплаченные (в том числе путем проведения зачета) в бюджет Республики Казахстан или иного государства по объектам налогообложения налогоплательщика, в пределах исчисленных и начисленных, кроме:

 1) налогов, исключаемых до определения совокупного годового дохода;

2) КПН и налогов на доходы юридических лиц, уплаченных на территории Республики Казахстан и в других государствах;

3) налогов, уплаченных в странах с льготным налогообложением;

4) налога на сверхприбыль.

 Налоги, начисленные, исчисленные за предыдущие налоговые периоды и уплаченные (в том числе путем проведения зачета) в текущем налоговом периоде, подлежат вычету в текущем налоговом периоде.

Необходимо отметить, что, сумма Налогов, исчисленная (начисленная) и уплаченная сверх размеров, установленных нормативными правовыми актами Республики Казахстан, на вычеты не относится.

 

Информация об уплаченных в бюджет Налогах формируется из данных лицевого счета, а информация о сумме начисленных Налогов - из налоговой отчетности по соответствующим налогам (с учетом доначисленных по акту проверки сумм налогов).

Суммы начисленных Налогов определяются по кредиту счетов подраздела 3100 «Обязательства по налогам» Типового плана счетов.

Пример расчета отнесения на вычеты сумм социального налога за 2008-2009 годы

Наименование

2008

2009

Сальдо на начало периода по л\с (+,-)

+100 000

- 200 000

Начислено по ФНО

1 000 000

1 000 000

Доначислено по акту проверки

500 000

0

Уплачено по л\с

1 200 000

1 500 000

Вычет налога

1 300 000

1 200 000

 

По мнения автора, в приведенном примере «Сальдо на начало» необходимо использовать не данные Лицевого счета, а информацию из данных бухгалтерского учета налогоплательщика. То есть, корректный вариант примера выглядит следующим образом:

 

Наименование

2008

2009

Сальдо на начало периода по бухгалтерскому учету (+,-)

+100 000

- 200 000

Начислено по ФНО

1 000 000

1 000 000

Доначислено по акту проверки

500 000

0

Уплачено по л\с

1 200 000

1 500 000

Вычет налога

1 300 000

1 200 000

Ниже указаны основания для выражения мнения:

В соответствии с правилами налогового учета, предусмотренными статьей 192 текущего Налогового кодекса, введенного в действие с 1 января 2018 года, налогоплательщик (налоговый агент) осуществляет ведение налогового учета в тенге по методу начисления в порядке и на условиях, установленных настоящим Кодексом. При этом, метод начисления является методом учета, согласно которому, результаты операций и прочих событий признаются по факту их совершения, в том числе со дня выполнения работ, предоставления услуг, отгрузки и передачи товаров покупателю или его доверенному лицу с целью реализации или оприходования имущества, а не со дня получения или выплаты денег или их эквивалента. Налогоплательщик (налоговый агент) на основе налогового учета по итогам налогового периода определяет объекты налогообложения и (или) объекты, связанные с налогообложением, и исчисляет Налоги в бюджет.

Исчисление и начисление Налогов производятся в соответствии с налоговым законодательством Республики Казахстан или иного государства (для налогов и других обязательных платежей, уплаченных в бюджет иного государства).

Порядок исчисления социального налога предусмотрен статьей 359 Налогового кодекса,  исчисление социального налога производится путем применения ставки, установленной в пункте 1 статьи 358 Налогового кодекса, к объекту налогообложения, определенному в соответствии с пунктами 2 и 3 статьи 357 Налогового кодекса, за налоговый период.

Обращаю внимание на то, что, в Лицевом счете социальный налог, исчисленный за 4-й квартал, не отражается, а в соответствии с требованиями Налогового кодекса, он подлежит учету при определении вычетов согласно статье 114 Налогового кодекса.

То есть, сдвиг налоговых периодов в связи с отличием  срока уплаты от даты окончания налогового периода противоречит принципу начисления, которым предусмотрено, что, налогоплательщик (налоговый агент) осуществляет ведение налогового учета в тенге по методу начисления в порядке и на условиях, установленных Налоговым кодексом.

В соответствии с пунктом 3 статьи 190 текущего Налогового кодекса, налоговый учет основывается на данных бухгалтерского учета. Порядок ведения бухгалтерской документации устанавливается законодательством Республики Казахстан о бухгалтерском учете и финансовой отчетности.

Согласно пункту 3 статьи 100 Налогового кодекса, вычеты производятся налогоплательщиком при наличии документов, подтверждающих расходы, связанные с его деятельностью, направленной на получение дохода. Данные расходы подлежат вычету в том налоговом периоде, в котором они фактически были произведены, за исключением расходов будущих периодов, определяемых в соответствии с международными стандартами финансовой отчетности и требованиями законодательства Республики Казахстан о бухгалтерском учете и финансовой отчетности.

Таким образом, Лицевой счет не является учетным документом налогоплательщика по ведению бухгалтерского учета в соответствии с Законом РК « О бухгалтерском учете и финансовой отчетности», а является документом по учету и контролю за поступлениями в бюджет налогов и обязательных платежей. При этом, Лицевой счет ведется не налогоплательщиком, а налоговым органом.

Следовательно, для исчисления и определения объектов налогообложения, за исключением случаев отсутствия ведения бухгалтерского учета или утраты документов, по умолчанию используется учетная документация налогоплательщика на основании данных бухгалтерского  и налогового учета.

Автор надеется, что настоящая статья поможет налогоплательщикам в спорах, часто возникающих при различном толковании норм налогового права и послужит основанием для отзыва примера, указанного в Методических рекомендациях по проведению документальных проверок полноты исчисления налоговых обязательств работниками органов государственных доходов или замены выражения «Сальдо на начало периода по л\с (+,-)» на  «Сальдо на начало периода по б/у (+,-)».

Поделиться ссылкой: # # # # # # # # # # # #
Комментариев нет... Вы можете сделать это первым!
Добавление поста
Заказать услугу МинТакс

Фотоальбом

https://www.kurs.kz/ - Курсы валют в обменных пунктах г. Алматы и других городах Казахстана https://www.kurs.kz/ - Курсы валют в обменных пунктах г. Алматы и других городах Казахстана

Кто онлайн
Логин
Юридические аспекты

Название «МинТакс» используемое на данном веб-сайте, в зависимости от контекста может иметь отношение к ТОО «МинТакс», или к ТОО «МинТакс Аудит», а также к их структурным подразделениям.ТОО «МинТакс» и ТОО «МинТакс Аудит» - партнерские компании, действующие на основе Соглашения о партнерстве, являются отдельными и независимыми юридическими лицами, созданными по законодательству Республики Казахстан, и несут все права и обязательства только от своего имени. Компании, входящие в группу «МинТакс» не несут ответственности за какие либо действия или упущения друг друга.
КОНФИДЕНЦИАЛЬНОСТЬ | ЮРИДИЧЕСКИЕ АСПЕКТЫ